Skip to content
July 13, 2011 / chronomax

Red Skelton could just be an old kook

Let’s add some pretext.

Last year, I started off skipping “Under God” in the Pledge of Allegiance. Then I thought- you know, why waste a minute from reading to stand up and recite something that should, like Red Skelton says, be heartfelt, when doing it monotonously everyday makes it otherwise? So I just sat, reading my book as other kids droned words like they were reading a work by Shakespeare which they didn’t understand. I inevitably got scalded by my teacher to the point where she called me “Un-American” in front of the class. Two minutes later, I went to an afterschool activity with three other people and she acted normal. Like Red Skelton, I think that teacher was a bit too old (and bipolar, but I never met Red Skelton).

Let’s rebuttal Red Skelton with the exact method he creates an argument with.I pledge allegiance. I promise to always hold, enforce, and standby what my country stands for. To the flag of the United States of America. That promise is towards the individual entities, that together, create a nation which flourishes upon those differences, as well as their similarities. And to the Republic for which it stands. And to my country, I pledge to the Republic that it is founded upon, where every man has a voice, and no one man is louder than another. One nation. Our differences create a melting pot in which we can learn from one another and grow. Our similarities bind us together in a brotherhood. Together, we become one great country.

Now let’s add two words. One nation, under God. And we stand together under a belief in the Christian God, with which supersedes our country.

Yeah, did you see that? Two words can make a difference. Two words can alienate whole minorities. Two words can go against the Constitution, and let me remind anybody who thinks that there isn’t Seperation Between Church and State:

“Congress shall make no law respecting an establishment of religion, or prohibiting the free exercise thereof; or abridging the freedom of speech, or of the press; or the right of the people peaceably to assemble, and to petition the Government for a redress of grievances.”

– 1st Amendment of the Constitution

And don’t say that “God” doesn’t refer to the Christian god- you know what, let’s say it does. Let’s say that Congress approved this, inevitably changing the national motto and currency with it (I’ll make another post about that, believe me), during a time where we were butting heads with Russia which was atheist, and didn’t at all think that they were referring to a Christian god. Guess what? It’s still a religion!

Leave a Reply

